Showing posts with label Tutorial. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tutorial. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Tutorial: Cut Out using Pen Tool

Hi all, actually this is the part of the tutorial how to make this image that i'll post in TheTuts. How to cut a photo using the Pen Tool (sepang, ehem..ehem..).

Final Result




Original Photo - Here (by thivierr)

Step 1
Click Pen Tool on the toolbar, and make sure you click on the Paths,Add to Path Area (+) just like the image.


Then, draw the outline of the image using Pen Tool.


Step 2
Here is result when you're finish drawing the outline of the image.


Right click on the image (still with your Pen Tool), click Make Selection


and here is the result of the action (make selection).


Step 3
Create a new layer of the selection image. Go to Layer > New > Layer via Copy


After put white background behind the layer that we've create and hide the original layer, this is the result.


Yes, it still not perfect right? As you can see, the should of the right ladies still covering by black coat and we'll fix it later.

Step 4
With the same technique, remove the background between the hand and the body.


Yehaa, we're done with the background. Now we will fix the shoulder part.

Step 5
Now we'll using Polygonal Lasso Tool to create a duplicate of the left shoulder. Draw the outline at the shoulder and right click, choose Make Selection and go to Layer > New > Layer via Copy. Rename the layer as 'Right Shoulder'.


Step 6
Then, flip the Right Shoulder layer to horizontal. Edit > Transform Points > Flip Horizontal


After that, place the Right Shoulder layer on the right position. Rotate the Right Shoulder layer a little bit by clicking [CTRL] + [T] (win) or Edit > Free Transform Points.


Erase the unnecessary things on the Right Shoulder layer using the Erase Tool.


Step 7
As you can see, the tone of the hand is still not nice, correct it with Brightness/Contrast tool. [Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast]. Just trying the perfect tone, here is mine (not perfect but still good enough). Brightness (-14), Contrast (0).


Step 8
Using the Pen Tool, draw the outline of the bandage (make sure you are selecting Original layer) and Make Selection of it then create a new layer via copy [Layer > New > Layer via Copy]. Rename the layer as "Bandage", move the layer to the top and place it into the right position.



Step 9
Here is the value for the Bandage layer for it Brightness and Contrast (Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast). Brightness (-13) , Contrast (-15). You can try your own to get the best result!


Step 10
As you can see, the Right Shoulder layer still not very realistic. Touch-up it using Burn Tool


with the setting,


here is the final result
That's all for now and thanks for reading this tutorial! I'll try to complete the tutorial as soon as possible and this is the image that we'll do.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Screencast: Drawing Soft and Fluffy Love

Hi all, how do you think this tutorial? Maybe it's quite messy, and just for all of you, I make a screencast special for all of you! Enjoy!

Friday, April 10, 2009

Tutorial: Soft and Fluffy Love

Hi all, we meet again in the tutorial part! In this post, we'll learn how to make soft and fluffy love shape using Adobe Photoshop CS4. Click here to see screencast version.


Final Image


Step 1
Create a New Document, select Pen Tool (P) and draw your love shape.


Step 2
Select Brush Tool (B) and go to the Brushes Option, follow the setting below.





Step 3
Set your foreground color to #ff0300 (red). Select Pen Tool (P) back, then right click on your love shape, choose Stroke Path. When the Stroke Path dialog box appear, select Brush.




Step 4
Here is the result of your 'love'. After that, click the Brush Tool (B) back, no need to change the setting, fill your 'love' with the shape.



Step 5
To create a nice lighting for your 'love', create a new layer then change your Brush Tool (B) with these setting, and paint it with a nice curve.



Step 6
Still on the 'lighting' layer, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and follow the value below. Try to decrease the opacity 'lighting' layer to get a better result.



Step 7
We'll create a shadow for it. Duplicate the 'love' layer, put the 'love copy' under 'love' layer then go to Edit > Transform > Flip Vertical. After that, go to blending option for 'love copy' layer and set the Color Overlay to Black. Then, follow step 6 and change the value to get a nice shadow.




Step 8
To create a nice color for your 'love', select 'love' layer, then go to blending option and follow these setting. #ea0909 and #770808 for the gradient. Choose Radial for the style and you can move the focus point by dragging the shape while the dialog box still open.


FINAL
Decorate your artwork with placing suitable picture. Here is mine!


Friday, April 3, 2009

Tutorial: Make Fire Text with Photoshop

Hi all, this tutorial are written by Dss. How to create a simple and easy text with fire effect? 

Before we get started, let's take a look at the image we'll be creating.




Step 1

Create a blank image and fill the background with black. Press D to
make photoshop back to default color. Press X on the keyboard (to
flip colors) and then select the Type Tool -- type whatever you want, press OK.



Step 2

Next, right click at the text layer then press Resterize Type.
Rasterizing converts the type layer into a normal layer
and makes its contents uneditable as text.



Step 3

Since there isn't a "top or bottom" option in the wind dialog box, we will
turn the image itself around. Use Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CCW.




Step 4

Next, use Filter > Stylize > Wind with the settings "Wind" and "from
the left". Press CTRL+F to apply the same filter over again a second
time.





Step 5

The next step is Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CCW.



Step 6

Now to add some shape to our fire! Using Smudge Tool, smudge your fire up and give it a little squiggle as you go. Do this until you get the proper shape. Also, ensure that the smudge strength is set to 75%.  Take your time at this stage and you should eventually end up with
something that resembles my image.




Step 7

Convert the image to Grayscale by using Image > Mode > Grayscale and
then to Image > Mode > Indexed Color. The next step is to give our image
some color, so choose Image > Mode > Color Table. Since we're shooting
for a "fire effect" choose the Black Body table.







Final Step

Make our text a bit more legible. Choose the Text Tool & press D on
your keyboard. Use/type the same words you used earlier (use the same font size
and type) click OK, position the text in the middle and say "Wow!".



Let Me Read For You